May 9, 2024

The first meeting session Fifty-Five of the Queens College Academic Senate was convened at 4:32 p.m. by Simone L. Yearwood, Holder of the Chair, pro tempore. The Chair pro tempore appointed Dave Fields as Parliamentarian pro tempore.

1. Elections Committee - Report of Elections

The Holder of the Chair, pro tempore reported the following amendments to the Elections Committee Report:

Page 1.

Secondary Education and Youth Services

Delegate Leslee Grey (2 yr.) Alt. Delegate Salvatore Garofalo (2 yr.)

Page 2.

Physics

Delegate Euclides Lins Almeida (2 yr.) Alt. Delegate Mohammad Ali Miri (2 yr.)

Page 3.

<u>Divisional At-Large – Social Sciences</u>

Delegate Larissa Swedell (2 yr.) Alt. Delegate Robin Rogers (2 yr.)

MOTION: Duly made by the Chair pro tempore:

"To adopt the Elections Committee Report as amended"

Hearing no objections to the motion, the Chair pro tempore adopted the Elections Committee Report as amended.

2. Nominations and elections as follows:

2a. The Chair pro tempore accepted nominations for the **Holder of the Chair**:

The following faculty member was nominated from the floor:

Kevin L. Ferguson

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair pro tempore asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

*Note Chair Kevin L. Ferguson appointed Dave Fields as Parliamentarian.

2b. The Chair accepted nominations for the **Deputy Holder of the Chair**:

Academic Senate Minutes - May 9, 2024

The following student was nominated from the floor:

Andrew Seudath

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

2c. The Chair accepted nominations for **Secretary**:

The following student was nominated from the floor:

Junold Libayo

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

- 2d. The Chair accepted nominations for the Executive Committee:
 - 1) The following faculty members were nominated from the floor:

Ann Azzollini, Sari Kisilevsky, Tina Pagano, and Karen Sullivan

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominees.

*One faculty seat on the Executive Committee remains OPEN.

2) The Chair accepted nominations to fill the remaining student seat on the **Executive Committee**.

The following student was nominated from the floor:

Annalisa Lloyd

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair asked the Secretary to cast one ballot for the nominee.

2e. Nominations to the Nominating Committee:

Faculty

1) The following faculty was nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN Arts and Humanities seat:

Kevin L. Ferguson

2026

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair moved unanimous consent.

2) The following faculty was nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN Math & Natural Sciences seat:

Tina Pagano

2026

Academic Senate Minutes - May 9, 2024

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair moved unanimous consent.

3) The following faculty was nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN Social Sciences seat:

Stephen Grover

2026

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair moved unanimous consent.

4) The following faculty was nominated from the floor to fill the OPEN At-Large seat:

Sari Kisilevsky

2026

Seeing no further nominations, the Chair moved unanimous consent.

Students

- 1) Arts and Humanities seat 2026 (No student nominees)
- 2) Education 2026 (No student nominees)
- 3) Math & Natural Sciences 2026 (No student nominees)
- 4) Social Sciences 2026 (No student nominees)
- 5) At-Large May 2026 (No student nominee)

MOTION: Duly made by Chair Ferguson:

"To Adjourn"

Meeting adjourned at 4:41 p.m.